Playlinks Arts Education Workshops

The Playlinks program is a two part arts education program, developed originally by the late Dr. Debra McLauchlan of Brock University’s Faculty of Education.

In the first stage, a professional artist visits classrooms at a school a week before their scheduled performance. For approximately 10-15 minutes they engage students, igniting curiosity about the play and leaving children with questions to consider when seeing the performance.

The second workshop is offered one week after the performance, where an artist returns to the school for up to six 50 minute sessions, offering age-specific activities linked to the Carousel Players performances.

The workshops have been an incredible success, deepening the students understanding of the story and its themes by exploring curriculum connections in meaningful ways that can be touched upon all year.

Carousel Players provides Playlinks at no cost to participating schools.

We rely on the support of donors and sponsors to cover the cost of delivering these programs in the Niagara Region.

If you, or your company, wish to support this program, you can do so with a donation to the Dr Debra McLauchlan Memorial Fund.

The presentations engaged students in a way that created an enthusiasm for the play and pre-post activities. It is a great curriculum connected (lots of possibilities) experience for all. My class enjoyed the experience. – Grade 1 Teacher

The students were very engaged and interested in the workshop. The artists kept discussion happening with good questioning and engaged students with a combination of discussion, movement & activities. Was very interactive! Great job! – Grade 6 Teacher

The McLauchlan Memorial Fund

The Dr Debra McLauchlan Memorial Fund was established to continue the work of our late Board Chair, who was a passionate advocate for drama in education. To honour Debra’s belief in the value of arts in the classroom, this Memorial Fund supports one of Dr McLauchlan’s creations: the Playlinks workshop program. All funds donated to the Memorial Fund go towards the expenses of this program, which provides free in-classroom drama workshops for elementary school children. Support the Playlinks program with a one-time or recurring monthly donation to the fund.

One-Time Donation
You may also donate by cheque or cash. Call us at 905-682-8326 *23 to learn more.


Recurring Donation
Your card will be debited monthly for 12 months

Playlinks Sponsors

Thank you to those who made donations in memory of Debra Mclauchlan

Sharon Abbey, Rodger Beatty , Jeanie Bellamy, Mary & Tony Blaikie, Catherine Borthwick & Gary Zalot, Brock University Department of Teacher Education Arts Team, Ken & Lindsey Cairns, Rick & Lynda Campbell, Rebecca Cann & Janis Barlow, Ken & Meg Collett, Carrie Costello, Pablo Felices Luna and Family, Miles & Kimberly Coverdale, Dave Csikos, Jane Deluzio, James & Mary Ann DeRoy, Tony Di Petta, Ron Dodson & Wendy McNaughton, George Doros, Martin & Judi Doyle, Alan & Susan Dyer,  Harry & Marilyn Ebert, Anne Elliott & Richard Holder, The English Family, Jayne Evans, Wayne Fairhead, Lynette Fast, Alan & Sandra Felton,  Stephanie Filippi, Jane Gardner, John & Susan Goddard, Marilyn & Terry Gordon, Dr. Shelley Griffin, Douglas Hummell, The Hunt Family, Len & Mary Jane Keenan, Lynn Kennedy, Renee Kuchapski, John & Margaret Lampman, Carol Lewis, Sarah Lynch, Gordon & Gail Lyon, Arlene Lysiuk, Carolyn Mackenzie, Vince & Krystl Marinaccio, Ron & Jennifer Matsushita, Evelyn McElhanney, Shirley & Stephen McIlmurray, Suzanne Merriam, Mary Jane Miller, Cathy Miyata, Sharon Moukperian, Margaret Newby, Marcie, Jennifer & Catherine Newell, Joe Norris, Chair of Dramatic Arts, Brock University, PlanET Group GmbH. PlanET Biogas Solutions Staff, Lawrence & Sheila Porter, Ross & Margaret Pulford, Susan Reicheld, Margaret Roi, William Ross, Dennis & Maria Schrapp, Sears Ontario Drama Festival, Pierre Simpson, Jo Smith, Paul & Mel Smith, Wade Stayzer, Wendy Thompson & Daryl Whiteley, Carol & Malcolm Thurlby, Donna & Jay Tredway, Pearl Van Geest, Darryl Wallace, Jane Wamsley, Derek & Patricia Whitehead , Dr. Kari-Lynn Winters, Pearl Van Geest, Dr. Peter Vietgen, Bryan Yarmola, Lindsay Zalot