The Recommender Grants for Theatre Creators (Formally known as Theatre Creators’ Reserve Program), funded through the Ontario Arts Council, assists Ontario-based professional theatre creators, individuals and collectives, by providing grants through third-party recommenders to develop new work.

Criteria for Application:

We ask creators to apply with a theatre for young audience proposal in mind. We are looking for projects that:

  • Demonstrate interest in theatre for children, youth and families
  • Explore narratives that speak to contemporary topics for youth
  • Demonstrate strong artistic vision and creative potential
  • Explore new and exciting forms in style and content

All projects will be reviewed by our Artistic Director. Specific feedback will be provided at the writer’s request.

In the past, we have aimed to provide enough support to the successful candidates for 2-4 weeks of work on their respective projects.

for more information contact

Application Deadline December 2019

How To Apply

Complete and submit an application in Nova, OAC’s online grant application system.

Before applying, you must create or update your profile in Nova. For help creating a profile or submitting an application in Nova, see the Nova User Guide.

You will be asked to provide

  • basic information about the project
  • answers to two application questions
  • Carousel Players’ name as the recommender you are applying to

Complete instructions and requirements are in the application in Nova.

Ontario Arts Council
2017-18 Recipients

Marie Beath Badian
Lindsay Anne Black
Sean Dixon
Ahdri Zhina Mandlela
Faith-Ann Mendes
Radha Menon
Cheyenne Scott

2016-2017 Recipients:

Firebrand Theatre Collective
Frog Song Collective
Laura Anna Harris
Rouvan Silogix
Shira Leuchter
Sonderlust Collective

2015-2016  Recipients:

Eleanor Albanese
Beau Dixon and Firebrand Theatre
Kate Hewlett
Radha Menon
Clelia Scala
Pierre Simpson